Thursday, April 20, 2017

RHINO BUCKET - The Last Real Rock N' Roll (2017)

RHINO BUCKET - The Last Real Rock N' Roll (2017) full

RHINO BUCKET are back with a new album and its title it's a true statement of the music packed inside; "The Last Real Rock N' Roll". Produced by Supersuckers‘ frontman Eddie Spaghetti, Rhino Bucket get a bit of spit and polish, with their grimy blues-based hard rock still sounding catchy as hell, their joy of a cool riff and growled vocal still intact.

Original members Georg Dolivo and Reeve Downes are joined, again, by Brian “Damage” Forsythe (Kix) and ace drummer Dave DuCey to deliver another pretty kick ass collection of rockin' tunes.
Started in the '80s in the middle of the San Fernando Valley, Rhino Bucket were signed to Warner Brothers, had a song on Wayne’s World movie, and later on The Wrestler and many other soundtracks. The band even had former AC/DC drummer Simon Wright for a short time.
Rhino Bucket’s AC/DC adoration begins their new album with 'Hello Citizens', a celebration, a call-to-arms to “join the revolution, to take a stand.”

That anthem is followed by 'Everything You Do', Forsythe digging out some tasty licks, and singer / rhythm guitarist Dolivo catching the rhythm and singing his heart out, adding just the necessary amount of melody and poppy sensibility.

Speaking of commercial rock n' roll,'Last Call' has some hearty female backing vocals, Dolivo singing “even next to you I feel alone” then heading out to the bar to drink away his sorrows. The Hammond organ just brings so much warmth and before you know it, you’re singing your lungs out.
'Forgiveness' once again brings the charging rhythm of Downes rumbling bass just putting his head down and going for it, with Dave DuCey playing tight, his fills nimbly backing Dolivo and Forsythe’s guitars.

RHINO BUCKET - The Last Real Rock N' Roll (2017) inside

'A Swing And A Miss' gives the impression that it could have its origins in a much slower blues arrangement, yet what we get is an angry, driving, head-banging, chill-inducing song.
After 11 booty-shaking, paint-pealing, ears-ringing songs, Rhino Bucket get dark and grooving. The album closes with 'The Devil You Know', where slashing guitars puncuate Downes and DuCey’s heaviness, Dolivo shredding his vocal chords, making Bon Scott proud. The gong sound at the end of the song is a nice touch too.

For those about to rock, should seek out Rhino Bucket’s "The Last Real Rock N’ Roll" for a dose of vintage hard rock / bluesy rock n' roll full of heart & soul, and tasty guitar licks.
This time there's a slightly commercial approach on some tracks, and this is really welcomed as not only add catchiness to the final product, but also variation.
Rhino Bucket’s "The Last Real Rock N’ Roll" makes me want to turn it up so loud the neighbors call the cops. It really, really rocks.

01. Hello Citizens
02. Everything You Do
03. Last Call
04. I'm Your Doctor
05. So Long
06. It's a Sin
07. Forgiveness
08. Bang My Drum
09. A Swing and a Miss
10. Falling Down the Stairs
11. Misery
12. The Devil You Know

Georg Dolivo – vocals, rhythm guitar
Brian Forsythe (Kix) – lead guitar, backing vocals
Reeve Downes – bass, backing vocals
Dave DuCey – drums, background vocals



Unique Visitors
View My Stats

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by 2008

Back to TOP