Thursday, April 13, 2017

JEFFERSON STARSHIP - Freedom At Point Zero (Rock Candy remastered)

JEFFERSON STARSHIP - Freedom At Point Zero (Rock Candy remastered) full

Another request here was a remastered version of JEFFERSON STARSHIP's "Freedom At Point Zero", the band's first album for new and awesome lead singer Mickey Thomas. Rock Candy specialists did a really good job on this record that needed a proper treatment.

After both vocalists Marty Balin and Grace Slick left the band the prior year (Slick rejoined the band for their next album Modern Times in 1981), Jefferson Starship recruited the great Mickey Thomas, starting a new melodic chapter for the band. Apart from Thomas, Aynsley Dunbar plays drums on "Freedom At Point Zero"; he had left Journey the previous year.

When did the roots of AOR (that’s Adult Orientated Rock) actually take hold? Students and critics have spent many a conversation pouring over this conundrum but the general consensus of opinion tends to agree on two years, two bands and two songs.
The year was 1978 and 1979, the bands were Toto and Jefferson Starship and the tracks, respectively, were ‘Hold The Line’ and ‘Jane’, both huge international hits that cast the mould for a future so bright that the formula was appropriated by a huge cast of characters well into the following decade.

JEFFERSON STARSHIP - Freedom At Point Zero (Rock Candy remastered) booklet

Jefferson Starship were, on the face of it, the least likely of all the established acts with roots in the 1960s San Francisco counter culture to suddenly reveal a new style and attain such unmitigated success. Of course matters were helped by a revised line-up, having recently lost mainstays Grace Slick and Marty Balin.
With the appointment of drummer Aynsley Dunbar from Journey and new vocalist Mickey Thomas together with super hot guitarist Craig Chaquico, the band headed for new pastures and came up trumps hitting the AOR bullseye dead centre.

‘Freedom At Point Zero’, originally issued in 1979, took the band to new heights of accomplishment. Produced expertly by Ron Nevison (Heart, Survivor) the sound showcases a band with fire in their belly and a style that set fire to the American charts.
And in the AOR pantheon ‘Jane’ remains an all-time classic.

You've seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 - Jane
02 - Lightning Rose
03 - Things To Come
04 - Awakening
05 - Girl With The Hungry Eyes
06 - Just The Same
07 - Rock Music
08 - Fading Lady Light
09 - Freedom At Point Zero

Mickey Thomas – vocals
Aynsley Dunbar – drums, percussion
Craig Chaquico – lead guitar, rhythm guitar
Paul Kantner – vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards
Pete Sears – bass, keyboards, electric rhythm guitar, vocals
David Freiberg – vocals, bass, keyboards
Tower of Power – horns



Unique Visitors
View My Stats

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by 2008

Back to TOP