Thursday, May 20, 2010

Y and T - Facemelter (2010)

Before Mötley Crüe, before RATT, even before there was a Metallica, Y&T was slogging away in sweaty rock clubs around America.
When the band formed in the early 1970s, little did they know they would set the standard for hard rock bands that trailed.
Many of the biggest acts of the '80s became popular opening for headliners Y&T, and cut their teeth on the band, as evidenced by the Y&T mentions in tell-all books by acts such as Metallica and Mötley Crüe.

Born in Oakland, California, Y&T is one of the San Francisco Bay Area's own innovators of the hard rock sound.
World-renowned headliners on their own, the band also remained the most requested support act on the hard rock road, touring with icons Ozzy Osbourne, AC/DC, Aerosmith, Mötley Crüe, and more.
Originally formed as Yesterday and Today, the initial powerhouse quartet-featuring Dave Meniketti (lead guitar/lead vocals), Phil Kennemore (bass), Leonard Haze (drums), and Joey Alves (rhythm guitar), tore through the '70s and '80s with their own brand of hard rock.
After two '70s albums on London Records, they shortened their name to Y&T and released eight albums on A&M in the '80s.
Two more albums with Geffen Records marked an era of change with Jimmy DeGrasso (Alice Cooper, Suicidal Tendencies, Megadeth) on drums and Stef Burns (Alice Cooper, Berlin, Huey Lewis) on guitar.

With a discography of 18 albums and three greatest hits collections, Y&T has sold over four million albums since their 1974 inception.
The band received extensive airplay with hits such as Forever, Rescue Me, Mean Streak, and Summertime Girls, which played in heavy rotation on MTV.
After five top 100 albums, songs that tipped into the 40s, two Bammie Awards, and many international television appearances, Y&T's hits are still played on VH1 Classic and classic rock radio stations everywhere.

In 2010, Y&T recorded their first studio album in 13 years, featuring original members Dave Meniketti and Phil Kennemore, with longtime members John Nymann on guitar and Mike Vanderhule on drums.
As the title indicates, "Facemelter" is a hard-rockin', song-oriented album that lives up to its name: it captures the band's raw energy and tightness that they've become known for.
Featuring deep grooves, powerful guitars and strong melodies, the band shows their versatility, delivering a range of high-energy rockers, mid-tempo head-bangers, modern rock grooves, majestic ballads, and signature Y&T rock anthems.

01. Prelude
02. On With The Show
03. How Long
04. Shine On
05. I Want Your Money
06. Wild Child
07. I'm Coming Home
08. If You Want Me
09. Hot Shot
10. Blind Patriot
11. Gonna Go Blind
12. Don't Bring Me Down
13. One Life

Dave Meniketti - Lead Vocals, Lead Guitars
Phil Kennemore - Bass Guitar, Vocals
John Nymann - Guitar, Vocals
Mike Vanderhule - Drums & Percussion, Vocals


Saturday, May 1, 2010

H.E.A.T - Freedom Rock (2010) Japan Edition

Sweden’s hottest AOR - Rock band are back with their 2nd album called "Freedom Rock".
They came out of nowhere and set the world on fire when they released their debut album in 2008. It was a magnificent debut album filled with classic AOR-sound with huge hooklines.

Earlier this year H.E.A.T released a 3-track single called 'Beg Beg Beg' with 2 stunning bonus tracks called 'Tonight' and 'Living In A Memory' that sounded awesome.
I wondered if they could or manage to come up with a new cracker with their 2nd album and I must say that Freedom Rock is even better with stronger production, better arrangements and it’s filled with stunning songs.
This new album sounds even more AOR than the debut.
Kenny Leckremo's voice has grown to be even stronger between these two albums and he sings just stunning, like a mixture of Mickey Thomas (Starship) and Mark Free (Signal, Unruly Child).

Opens up with 'Beg Beg Beg', a party song advanced in the single.
'Black Night' is a duet with Kenny and Tobias Sammet (Edguy, Avantasia) and is a cracker with layers of melodies and the chorus is powerful with strong background vocals.
'Shelter' is the ballad of the album and what a song then, this would have been a major hit back in the 80s for sure because the chorus is a winner with Giant feel over it. The melodies and Kenny’s voice makes it a perfect match.
'We're Gonna Make It To The End' and is a fantastic soundtrack AOR-rocker with plenty of keyboards and riff strong guitars that builds up the song to a first class chorus that grabs a hold of you and your in AOR-heaven. What a start of the album and it just gets better.
'Stay 2010' (bonus track on the Japanese version of the debut album) and this is a hook laden AOR-rocker that reminds of FM with big background vocals and a sing-a-long chorus.

'Nobody Love You Like I Do' is filled with brilliant twin guitars and the sing-a-long chorus is huge with classy harmony vocals and H.e.a.t rock big time on this one.
'Everybody Wants To Be Someone' starts slow but turns out to a excellent AOR-rocker with a phenomenal chorus with powerful background vocals and a song that won’t leave your head. This reminds so much of Starship at their peak.
'I Can’t Look The Other Way' could be the AOR-song of the year and it gave me goose-bumps (well there’s more songs on the album that gave me that). This is a fantastic AOR-rocker with powerful drum sound and Jona Tee gets extra room to shine with his keyboards. The chorus is huge with catchy hooklines and this is pure AOR magic and listen to the harmonies, classy stuff.

Freedom Rock is a true masterpiece and they have proved us that they are here to stay.
The album of the year for sure.

1 - Beg Beg Beg
2 - Black Night
3 - Danger Road
4 - Shelter
5 - We're Gonna Make It To The End
6 - Stay
7 - Nobody Loves You (Like I Do)
8 - Everybody Wants To Be Someone
9 - I Know What It Takes
10 - Living In A Memory (Japan Bonus Track)
11 - Cast Away
12 - I Can't Look The Other Way
13 - Who Will Stop The Rain
14 - Tonight (Japan Bonus Track)

Kenny Leckremo - vocals
Dave Dalone - guitar
Eric Rivers - guitar
Jona Tee - keybords
Jimmy Jay - bass
Crash - drums



Unique Visitors
View My Stats

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by 2008

Back to TOP